Chili w/ beer bread

Last night, I made a crockpot of chili and a yummy recipe of beer bread.  And the recipe for beer bread couldn’t be easier!  I won’t bore you with the chili recipe because everyone has their fave recipe for chili.  This one wasn’t as good as usual because I still can’t find some spices that were packed up.  No cumin, cayenne, or even my big shaker of Taco Seasoning that I bought at Costco.  So all I had to work with was chili powder, hot sauce, and black pepper.  Oh, and salt.

But anyway, here is the beer bread recipe.  I found it here.  This was my first time using self-rising flour too.  So simple!  The beer I used was Bluegrass Brewing Company Nut Brown Ale.  The website I found this recipe on says this: A dark beer will give you a darker bread with a heavier flavor. Using a beer that is spiced, or has a flavor added, will make bread with a similar flavor. It also goes on to say that you can use any carbonated beverage in place of the beer.  That’s just silly.  What’s even sillier is them saying that you can use orange or grape soda and the beer will have the flavor and the tinted color of the drink.  Now that goes beyond silly and is just plain dumb.  My sister in law wondered about using ginger ale but I think I’ll stick to beer.  I may try to use Bluegrass Brewing Company Bourbon Barrel Stout.  I also want to add some finely shredded cheddar to make beer cheese bread.  I bet it would be perfect with beer cheese soup!

Beer Bread

1 12-oz bottle or can of beer
3 cups self-rising flour
1/3 cup white sugar
3 tablespoons melted butter.

Grease a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan; set aside.  In a large bowl, whisk together the sugar and flour. Add beer and continue to mix, using a wooden spoon.  Batter will be very sticky. Pour into prepared loaf pan. Allow to sit at room temperature for 30-60 minutes.  (I missed this step and it still turned out great) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Drizzle 3 tablespoons of butter over the bread before baking. Bake in preheated oven for 50 for 60 minutes. The top will be crunchy, and the insides will be soft.

yeah, I like some cheese on my chili.  Sue me!

About Mama Boyet

We're moving to Lexington, Kentucky!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chili w/ beer bread

  1. shannon says:

    yum!! and yes I agree grape and flavored soda sounds disgusting LOL-I’m glad it turned out yummy! I definitely would like to try it some time!

Leave a Reply

