A few of my favorite things…

No, not those favorite things (although I do like whiskers on kittens and warm woolen mittens).  I’m talking about my favorite things, not Maria’s.  Here is what I’m crazy about right now.

Okay, I know what you’re thinking.  Baking Soda?  Really?  No, I’m not just discovering baking soda but I have discovered a new use for it.  I have a box of it in my shower and I mix in a good tablespoon or so in with my facial cleanser before washing my face.  It works as a mild exfoliant and makes my skin feel soft and smooth.  I also don’t seem to have as many “adult breakouts” since I started using it.

Here is what I love to put on my skin after using the baking soda.  I’ve been using this moisturizer for at least a couple years now.  It just melts into my skin and makes it feel great.  Never greasy, just super soft.  And here’s a tip: As soon as I open it for the first time, I pull out the cardboardy liner thing in the lid.  This just draws moisture out of the product and dries it out.  If you have a Sephora near you, ask for a sample of this and try it.

I know everyone seems to love the stuff in the pink tube but it seems too gloppy for me.  I love this mascara.  It goes on light and allows you to build up layers if you want more.  But it really does define the lashes.

Okay, here is my biggest beauty splurge.  But this stuff works!  I discovered this product when I visited the Sephora in Lexington in August.  I was looking for a styling product I could put in my permed hair that would kind of activate the curl but not leave my hair crunchy.  The gal at Sephora suggested the Wave Shaping, Curl Defining Styling Cream.  I loved it.  And because it is silicone free, you really can’t use too much.  It never makes my hair feel greasy or weighed down.  So I used that for a little while and then decided I wanted to use their shampoo and conditioner.  I’ve been reading about not using sulfates and silicones in your hair and this line of haircare doesn’t have either.  I use the frizz free line but they also have a thickening line.  My hair is already too thick so I don’t want that!  So I use the No Frizz shampoo & conditioner and I have styling cream for both wave making/curl shaping or straight making, depending on how I want to style my hair.  The shampoo is a bit pricey ($24 for 8oz) but my hair feels so good that I feel it is worth it, especially since it doesn’t contain sulfates or silicones.  I even went so far as to take my products to my hairstylist to use on my hair.  My hairstylist is beyond happy that I’m not longer using drugstore brands.  If you’re interested, check out this link for how to choose which products will work for you.

This is a recent discovery.  Quite delicious.  Add some to orange juice and it tastes like a creamsicle.  Add some to ginger ale and it tastes like cream soda.  Adding it to Diet Pepsi gives the same effect.  It’s also good in hot chocolate, along with some ButterShots.

I simply adore the crispy fish tacos at Baja Fresh.  So much so that I checked to make sure there is a Baja Fresh in Lexington… and there isn’t!  *cry* In fact, I couldn’t find one in the entire state of Kentucky.  What I love so much about their fish taco is the tangy vinegary dressing they put on it.  It’s so tangy, it makes me shudder at times but it is still sooo good.  So I’m trying to get my fill while I still can.  Maybe if I eat them every day for the next 12 days, I’ll be so sick of them that I won’t mind I can’t get them anymore.  Hmmmm…

 

About Mama Boyet

We're moving to Lexington, Kentucky!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

