Bourbon Chicken Lettuce Wraps

My apologies that I don’t have a picture for what we ate.  I didn’t realize until after we ate.  I made bourbon chicken (no bourbon in it though) and this time we served it in lettuce wraps.  It was yummy.  Here is the recipe:

Bourbon Chicken
2 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite size pieces
1 – 2 TBS olive oil
1 garlic clove, crushed (or 1 tsp. pre-minced garlic)
1/2 tsp. ginger
3/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 cup apple juice
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 TBS. ketchup
1 TBS. cider vinegar
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup soy sauce
Directions: Heat oil in a large skillet. Add chicken pieces and cook until lightly browned. Remove chicken. Add remaining ingredients. Heat and stir over medium heat until well mixed. Add chicken and bring to a hard boil. Reduce heat and simmer about 20 minutes. Serve over hot rice, in a lettuce wrap, on a salad, etc.

What I did tonight was take some chicken breasts I had already cooked and chopped it up into my processor.  It chopped it a little finer than what I hoped but it was still good.  Next time I’m going to use my handi-chopper (it’s like a slap-chop) so I have more control over the texture.  Anyway, I made the sauce in the saucepan and then added the chopped chicken.  We rolled up the chicken mixture in lettuce leaves and gobbled away.
About Mama Boyet

We're moving to Lexington, Kentucky!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

