Chicken and noodles

Since it’s supposed to snow tonight, I thought I’d make a warm and comforting meal for dinner (as opposed to cold and uncomfortable, right?).  I found a yummy looking recipe for chicken & noodles on a blog I like to frequent, The Glamorous Life of a Housewife.  Below is the recipe she posted and my comments and/or changes are in bold.

Chicken & Noodles

1 can condensed cream of chicken soup sorry, mom!  I know how much you hate canned soups 😀
1 can condensed cream of celery soup I used cream of onion
3 (14.5 ounce) cans chicken broth I only had 2 cans of the Swanson 14.5oz size so I threw in 2 more cans of Campbell’s condensed chicken broth.  I knew I had more noodles to cook so I didn’t mind the extra liquid
2 cups diced, cooked chicken breast meat (I use a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken to simplify my life!) I had some cooked chicken on hand and I ended up using closer to 3 cups
2 teaspoons onion powder
1 teaspoon seasoning salt
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
2 (9 ounce) packages frozen egg noodles I wasn’t able to find the 9oz size but 1 bag of 24oz.  The extra noodles is why I added a bit more liquid

DIRECTIONS

In a large pot, mix the cream of chicken soup, cream of celery soup, chicken broth, and chicken meat. Season with onion powder, seasoning salt, and garlic powder. I also added a couple sprinkles of poultry seasoning and black pepper. Bring to a boil, and stir in the noodles.

Reduce heat to low, and simmer for 20 to 30 minutes.

You can literally whip this up in minutes, then sit back and wait for it to thicken and cook. You can also substitute cream of celery with cream of mushroom, if that’s what you prefer.

It did end up a little soupier than the original recipe showed but it was still very good.  I guess I could have cooked it longer or only used the 1 extra can of Campbell’s broth.  Overall, it turned out pretty darn good.

About Mama Boyet

We're moving to Lexington, Kentucky!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken and noodles

  1. bizzyshan says:

    YUM! i didn’t see this on f/b for some reason! are those the pics from your kitchen or from the post? I’m glad it turned out! it looks really creamy and hardy!

Leave a Reply

