Homemade granola

My sister in law posted a recipe for granola a while back and I’ve been wanting to try it. Well today is the day.

4 cups rolled oats
1 Cup sliced almonds
1cup chopped pecans (I used 2 cups dried cranberries)
1 cup sunflower seeds
1/3 cup Canola oil
1/2 cup honey
1 teaspoon vanilla (I used 2tsp)
1 tablespoon cinnamon

1) Preheat oven to 300F.

2) In a large bowl stir together oats, almonds, pecans, and sunflower seeds. In a separate bowl mix together oil, honey, vanilla, and cinnamon- stir WELL. (I microwaved the mixture for about 25seconds to make it easier to combine)

3) Combine the oat mixture and the honey mixture. Spread onto 2 ungreased baking sheets. (I put it on one big baking sheet)

4) Bake in pre-heated oven for 10 minutes; remove from oven and stir. Return to oven and bake an additional 10 minute or until golden. Remove from the oven and let cool completely before serving or storing into an airtight container. the yield is 20 servings.

I think next time I will do a cherry almond granola. Double the sliced almonds and 2 cups dried cherries and a splash of almond extract.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

About Mama Boyet

We're moving to Lexington, Kentucky!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homemade granola

  1. bizzyshan says:

    How did you like it??

    • Mama Boyet says:

      It was pretty good but had a little too much sunflower seed taste to it for me. Not a big fan of sunflower seeds. I think next time I’ll double the amount of sliced almonds and leave out the sunflower seeds. But other than that, it was pretty darn good.

  2. bizzyshan says:

    yeah I like how you can do just about any combo of yummies w/ it 🙂

Leave a Reply

