Mexican Chicken

So tonight’s dinner was a success.  CJ specifically told me that I needed to add this to my rotation of recipes.  This is another recipe I got off of the Glamorous Housewife website.  I’ve typed up the recipe as she posted it and my notes/changes are in bold.

Mexican Chicken

First of all, take 1 pound of velveeta cheese, 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and 1 can of rotel and heat it through on the stove. I used 2 cans cream of chicken & mushroom.  Oh, and make sure you heat this on low heat.  Mine totally scorched on the bottom of the pan but I was careful not to scrape any off and into the mixture.  It pretty much stayed glued to the bottom of my pan.

While the cheese mixture is melting, boil/bake/however you prefer to prepare 2 chicken breasts for shredding. Sometimes I take the easy route and buy a rotesserie chicken at the store and shred. It saves a lot of time, and oh, the flavor.  We used leftover fried chicken breasts we had from last night.  CJ took the meat off the bone for me and removed the fried chicken “skin”.  So I had nice breast meat to shred up.

Shred the meat and season with season salt, pepper and any other spices you prefer. I failed to take a picture of my chicken.  Sorry!  But I seasoned mine with Lawry’s seasoned salt, onion powder, and pepper.
Mix together the chicken and the cheese mixture.
Stir and just for funzies, add some more pepper. I’m a pepper freak. I forgot to pepper the mixture but after everything was said and done, CJ & I both thought the dish had plenty of season.  We did not salt or pepper our food once it was on the plate.

Pour into a 9X13 dish and bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes.

When there are 10 minutes left to bake, crunch up some tortilla chips and throw them on top. Continue baking until the timer goes off.  I used Doritos but her picture showed plain tortilla chips.  Fritos would probably be good too

While the mexican chicken is baking, prepare either egg noodles or white rice. I prefer egg noodles. I’ve had both.  I cooked up big fat rigatoni noodles because all I had was either Rigatoni or elbow macaroni, or spaghetti.  CJ thought the rigatoni worked really well.  Not sure what I think of serving this over rice…

Below is a picture of the chicken mixture, after we dug into it.  I forgot to take a picture after I took it out of the oven.

Serve the chicken mixture of your noodles or rice.  I told CJ that I thought you could also combine your noodles with the mixture before you bake it.  Since the mixture by itself filled up the entire pan, you’d probably have to split it between 2 pans and you can freeze one then bake the 2nd.  I may try that next time.  Below is a picture of my plate after I ate some.  I forgot to take a picture after I served it up.

So there ya have it.  Mexican chicken.  It was really really good.  Mmmmmm….

About Mama Boyet

We're moving to Lexington, Kentucky!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mexican Chicken

  1. bizzyshan says:

    wow it looks super rich- but tasty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

