The easiest potato soup ever (and the best)

I made the best dinner tonight.  No, really.  Both boys told me it was amazing and I outdid myself.  I think I actually blushed.  But it’s embarrassing because it was so easy.  Here’s what I did:

Before I left for work this morning, I threw the following ingredients into my crockpot.

  • 1 30-oz bag frozen, shredded hash browns
  • 3 14-oz cans chicken broth
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion (I used frozen because I had an open bag of them)
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

I put it on Low and left for work.  This was about 7:30am and I got home about 5:30.  I gave it a good stir and added an 8-oz brick of cream cheese that I had cut into 8 pieces.  Then I went for a walk.  🙂  When I got back, about 30-40min later, I stirred the soup really well until the soup came together and was really creamy looking.  It was looking a little separated and funky at first but it did finally come together after a minute or 2 of stirring.  Then I tasted it and salted/peppered to taste.  AND added a healthy dose of smoked paprika.  I think this was my secret ingredient (not mentioned in the original recipe I found online).  It made the soup taste like it had bacon in it and it also gave it a color that made it look cheesy (as in cheddar).

This seriously was the best soup.  The boys would not stop raving about the soup.  We served it with a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkle of cheddar.   Delish!!!  Below is a link to the original online recipe.  It’s a perfect fall/winter soup.

via Pearls, Handcuffs, and Happy Hour: Outback Ain’t Got Nothin’ on Me!!.

About Mama Boyet

We're moving to Lexington, Kentucky!
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

